top of page

I Wish I Would Have Known

As a first-time traveler, there were many things I did not know. General resourcefulness accounted for most of these, but I decided to document and share the mistakes that I made and would advise others not to do. Small errors, true, but if I could do it again, I would bear these in mind.

1.) Buy a worldwide adapter. I did not, and soon realized that although I had purchased the correct adapter for Europe, it did not work in Ireland (they use UK outlets). Just spend a little extra and get the worldwide, because it is one less thing.

2.) Pack some snacks. I wish I had brought more, because food can be expensive depending on where you are going. You will want to spend your money on full meals, so bring snacks. Also, if there is an Aldi (or similar store), go there instead of somewhere else. Larger department stores (like those that sell clothes in addition to food) often charge more than small markets, and it adds up.

3.) Know your weather. The first thing I had to do in Ireland was to buy rain boots. I obviously knew it rained quite a bit here, but I underestimated the clouds. I also brought a separate fleece jacket and rain jacket, when a nice waterproof one can do both jobs at once. That being said, a good jacket is worth investing in no matter where you go.

4.) If you're a girl, bring a full box of tampons. I did not bring enough; they are different here than in the U.S. As you know if you are female, this is not something you want to experiment with.

5.) A spare towel will work wonders. The university provided towels for us, but only changed them once a week, so I would have liked to have an extra.

6.) Certain items may be cheaper to buy at home. For example, the exchange rate using euros made things like shampoo and soap more expensive to buy overseas, so I was sure to pack those beforehand. As long as your luggage is light enough to support it, it doesn't hurt to bring what you can instead of buying to potentially save some money. I used euros and pounds while in Ireland, so I made sure to choose the best financial option for me.

I know this is not an extensive list, but I was sure to look up multiple "what to bring abroad" lists online and account for whatever I use in my day-to-day routine, and for that reason I was reasonably prepared. It is also worth noting that stores are typically not difficult to come by. What was helpful to me in packing was to think of all the things I use in a day and make sure that I at least brought those, then consider special occasions (bring at least one decent outfit) and unpredictable weather. The most important aspect is to know what you need and make sure you are responsible enough to bring those items!

bottom of page